November 6, 2009


COLUMBIA, Tenn. – Dr. Charles (C.W.) Ball was awarded the 2009 Family Physician of the Year Award by the Tennessee Academy of Family Physicians (TAFP) on October 28. This award recognizes a TAFP member who has made an outstanding contribution to family medicine, to the advancement of health and/or medical training and education.

“C.W. has made significant contributions to his profession and to our community. He is truly one of the most dedicated physicians with whom I’ve had the pleasure to work. He has been instrumental in advancing the medical center with his involvement in initiatives such as improving patient outcomes and implementing electronic medical records. He is extremely deserving of this honor,” said Robert Otwell, CEO at Maury Regional Medical Center.

Dr. Ball has been a member of the medical staff at Maury Regional Medical Center since 1979, during which time he has served as chief of staff, chief of family practice, chief of medicine and as medical director since 2001. He is board certified in family medicine and continues to see patients in his private practice in addition to serving as medical director. In 2004, he established Hope Clinic of Middle Tennessee, a clinic that provides services to the uninsured. The facility continues to provide free health care for patients who otherwise are unable to afford and access care.

“C.W. is one of the finest physicians with whom I have ever worked. He is a humble, enthusiastic, faithful, and positive role model in our community and among his peers. His dedication to service and care for his patients is unsurpassed. He exemplifies all that is good in the practice of medicine,” said Dr. Jeff Adams, chief of staff.

Dr. Ball completed his medical degree at the University of Tennessee in Memphis and his residency in family practice at the University of Alabama at Huntsville. He is a past-president of the Tennessee Academy of Family Physicians, the Maury County Medical Society, and the Rural Health Association, who honored him with Rural Physician of the Year award in 1995. He currently serves as chairman of the Tennessee Legislative Committee for the Tennessee Academy of Family Physicians, a position he has held since 1995, and on the Commission of Government Advocacy for the American Academy of Family Physicians.