Magnet: A Journey to Excellence

These are exciting times for nurses at Maury Regional Medical Center. We have begun our journey to become a Magnet facility, a recognition awarded by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC).

What is the Magnet Recognition Program?

It is a program that recognizes quality patient care, nursing excellence and professional practice. It serves as the gold standard for nursing excellence.

The Magnet Model:

Magnet consists of five domains. Each of the domains has stringent standards and requirements that must be met by an organization in order to become Magnet. The five domains are: Transformational Leadership, Structural Empowerment, Exemplary Professional Practice, New Knowledge, Innovations & Improvements and Empirical Outcomes.

Magnet Model Graphic - NEW.jpg

Why pursue Magnet?

There are many reasons to pursue this designation. Some of the primary ones are listed below:

  • Focuses on quality outcomes
  • Supports patient-centered care
  • Provides consumers with the ultimate benchmark to measure the quality of care they can expect to receive
  • Research by L. Aiken, PhD, FAAN, FRCN, RN shows Magnet facilities outperform peers in recruiting and retaining nurses

The environment in a Magnet facility benefits both patients and staff. Some

of those benefits are:


  • Enhanced safety mechanisms and practices
  • Improved clinical outcomes
  • Higher patient satisfaction
  • Decrease in healthcare acquired infections
  • Lower complication rates
  • Lower mortality rates/ morbidity rates
  • Increased loyalty to the organization


  • Higher workplace satisfaction
  • Higher job satisfaction
  • Engagement in daily professional practice
  • Governance over own practice
  • Retention and recruitment  of skilled clinicians
  • Professional development program/opportunities
  • Enhanced working relationships with all departments and disciplines



© 2008 Maury Regional Medical Center