Maury Regional clinics receive RHC reaccreditation, NCQA recognition


COLUMBIA, Tenn. — Several Maury Regional Health practices were rewarded recently for their commitment to providing health care services to rural and underserved communities.

Maury Regional Medical Group’s (MRMG) Rural Health Clinics (RHC) received reaccreditation with Exemplary Provider® status after a recent on-site evaluation conducted by The Compliance Team, Inc. (TCT).

Likewise, the organization’s Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) practices received recognition by the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) in its Patient-Centered Medical Home program.

“We’re extremely proud to earn these reaccreditations,” said Nathan Miller, PT, MMHC, interim president of Maury Regional Medical Group (MRMG). “Providing access to exceptional health care for our entire community — especially those who are underserved in our community — is important to us. I want to thank our team for their hard work and dedication to our patients.”

The RHC practices were judged during the on-site evaluation on their compliance with TCT’s patient care practices and comprehensive quality standards. The reaccreditation is valid for three years.

The Rural Health Clinics program was created in 1977 to address the unmet health care needs in rural America. Rural health clinics receive enhanced Medicare and Medicaid reimbursements, and all rural health clinics must utilize the skills of a physician assistant or nurse practitioner and focus on primary care. There are more than 5,300 federally certified rural health clinics that provide primary care services to more than 37.7 million people in 45 states.

The practices awarded RHC reaccreditation include:

  • MRMG Primary Care and Pediatrics
  • MRMG Pulmonary and Critical Care
  • MRMG Primary Care Suite 403
  • MRMG Rheumatology
  • MRMG Endocrinology
  • MRMG Primary Care in Mt. Pleasant
  • MRMG Primary Care in Spring Hill
  • MRMG Urgent Care in North Columbia
  • MRMG Urgent Care in Columbia

NCQA is an independent, nonprofit organization that accredits and certifies a wide range of health care organizations. Its Patient-Centered Medical Home Program was developed to assess whether clinician practices are functioning as medical homes and recognize them for these efforts. It reflects the input of the American College of Physicians (ACP), American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and American Osteopathic Association (AOA) and others.

The NCQA Patient-Centered Medical Home standards emphasize the use of systematic, patient-centered, coordinated care that supports access, communication and patient involvement.

MRMG’s designated FQHC practices include PrimeCare Clinic in Columbia, Lewis Health Center in Hohenwald, Lewisburg Pediatrics, Lewisburg Family Practice, Primary Care-Waynesboro and Maury Regional Medical Group Primary Care in Collinwood. Physicians and nurse practitioners at these locations are provided by MRMG.

FQHCs are safety net providers that receive support from the federal government to assist in providing comprehensive, competent and quality health care services in communities with historically high uninsured populations. In addition to accepting Medicare, Medicaid, TennCare and commercial insurances, these practices offer services at a discounted rate or nominal fee to uninsured or under-insured patients who financially qualify.

To learn more about Maury Regional Health’s FQHC practices, visit

For more information about MRMG and a list of services and providers, visit

Return To Previous Page