Horner elected chair of MRMC board of trustees


COLUMBIA, Tenn. — Beverly Horner, retired member-in-charge of KraftCPA’s Columbia office, was elected chair of the Maury Regional Medical Center (MRMC) board of trustees at the board’s January meeting. She’s the first female chair in the board’s history.

Horner, who joined KraftCPA’s Columbia office in 1988 and retired in 2018, has served on the board of trustees since 2019 and was on its advisory board in 2018. She was a certified public accountant, certified financial services auditor and registered qualified peer reviewer. Horner obtained a Master of Business Administration from East Tennessee State University and a bachelor’s degree in chemistry from Middle Tennessee State University.

Horner replaced Houston Parks as chair. Parks, a longtime local attorney in private practice with the law firm Parks, Bryant and Snyder, PLLC, retired from the board after serving since 2009. He was first elected chair in 2018 after serving as vice chair for two years.

“I want to thank Houston for his service on the board of trustees for the past 15 years. Maury Regional Health has benefitted greatly from his leadership,” said Maury Regional Health CEO Martin Chaney, MD. “Beverly is a fantastic choice to step in as chair. She has been a valuable member of the board for the last five years, and her leadership skills and business acumen will suit her well in this role.”

Scott Gaines was reappointed to serve as vice chair. Gaines is the retired assistant superintendent of instruction for Maury County Public Schools. He has served as a board member since 2004 and vice chair since 2021.

In addition, Brian K. Williams joined the board after serving multiple terms on the advisory board since 2015, while Jan McKeel and Jim Grippo, MD, were both reappointed to serve another three-year term.

Williams is chairman of the board of directors and CEO of First Farmers and Merchants Bank. He’s also a member of the Financial PSI Board of Directors, the ALIGN Maury Task Force, the Maury Alliance Economic Development Council and the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta Special Committee on Payments Inclusion.

On the MRMC advisory board, four new members were elected, including Chris Poynter, district athletic and arts director for Maury County Public Schools; Craig Jones, administrator of NHC Maury Regional TCC in Columbia; Jenny Adcox, commercial real estate broker with KW Commercial Middle Tennessee; and Kelley McCall, chief financial officer and senior vice president at TriStar Bank.

Bethany Lay and Willie Nelson completed their terms on the advisory board.

In addition to the board of directors and advisory board, MRMC’s 2023 medical staff officers were also recently announced. Chad M. Moss, MD, a robotic surgery specialist associated with The Surgical Clinic in Columbia, was named chief of staff, while Mark A. Seago, MD, was named vice chief of staff; Nathanael R. Berkley, MD, was named secretary/treasurer; and Danielle C. Gibson, MD, will serve as past chief of staff.

Return To Previous Page